116246957630851639

Mercy just looks so pitiful in my post from Halloween that I just had to post a happier one of her. I didn’t want PETA to get mad or anything- haha!

See, she really is happy. I really do take good care of her. I don’t torture her with the outfits all the time. She does look adorable in sweaters, though.

This picture was taken the night we got home from the marathon- little Mercy had been at “Camp Grandma” (aka- my mothers) for the weekend, and she was so happy to snuggle in bed with us!

Look at what my in-laws sent me for my birthday:
The Angle of Light Willow Tree figurine.

I LOVE Willow Tree things. I have a few others too:

Angel of the Kitchen, from my mom

And Promise, from my in-laws.

I have a Christmas one too, but c’mon, it’s only November!!!

By the way, my husband and I were priveledged to be a part of the first annual Lauren Castanza Challenge this past weekend. It was a 5K to benefit the Lauren Castanaza Foundation, which is raising money for medical mission.

Dear hubby came in fifth place overall and won his age group with a time of 20:55 for a 5 k. Amazing, huh?

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” 2 Timothy 4:7

The most amazing thing to me is how God can take something that is tragic, and turn it into something beautiful.

This is a picture of Lauren with her parents.

Lauren was called home to heaven last year while hiking. One moment, she was on this earth, the next moment, she was on the way to meet her Savior.

It was a tragic accident, she lost her footing and slipped off a path and over a cliff. Thank God that he doesn’t waste pain.

She was a 19 year old young woman in love with life and her precious Jesus. Her writings were incredible, along the lines of Spurgeon, CS Lewis, and Chambers. Her journals shows her heart- that it beat for Him who saved her.

Her other love was biology and medicine. She studied very hard and was an exceptional student. She even did research during the summer at a local University. Her dream was to become a professor of medicine and go to third world countries to teach. But she wanted to teach the people not only how to be a doctor or nurse, but how to take care of their own people, not move the the U.S. to get rich.

Her mission on earth was completed on July 30, 2005. But for her family and friends, our mission is not complete. We are still here. Which is why Laurens parents have created the LRC Foundation to continue on in her honor and for Gods glory.

The race was the first event. It was a success. I am so thankful to have been a part of it.

We can’t wait for next year.

5 responses to “116246957630851639

  1. Yes, Mercy does look happier! (She also looks a little bit like a mini Chewbacca!)

    I’m glad the 5K went well for you and your husband. Was it hard to run after just completing the marathon?

  2. Hi, i was looking over your blog and didn’t
    quite find what I was looking for. I’m looking for
    different ways to earn money… I did find this though…
    a place where you can make some nice extra cash secret shopping.
    I made over $900 last month having fun!
    make extra money

  3. Hi, i was looking over your blog and didn’t
    quite find what I was looking for. I’m looking for
    different ways to earn money… I did find this though…
    a place where you can make some nice extra cash secret shopping.
    I made over $900 last month having fun!
    make extra money

  4. It is wonderful to see Lauren’s mission being carried out, even if not the original way she had hoped. It’s so nice that you and your husband were able to participate in the 5k.

    I’m reading When God Weeps right now for our church book group, and I’m hoping it will help me better understand situations like what Lauren and her family went through.

  5. I (pardon my french) swatch the yarn I am using to design a pattern in the stitch before I take to designing. It is tricky to swatch circularly – so I cheat. I use DP needles and knit to the end of the row, I slide the work to the end of the needle and, without turnning I pull the yarn up tight and knit across. I repeat this until I have about 4 inches (oops! I cast on about double the # of stitches the guage on the yarn calls for so I can measure in the middle of the swatch) then I snip the pulled yarns, lay the swatch flat and measure the center most 1″ square. I hope this help. As for your socks, you might consider pulling out back to just past the heel turn and working a 1X1 or 2X2 rib. They may fit you worked in a rib.
    B–>

Leave a Reply

