How Much?

Have you ever thought about how much your time is worth? Could you put a monetary value on your time? ALL of your time?

Many of us have a “billable” rate at work and a salary that sort of translates to an hourly wage (and unless you own your own business and have zero overhead, your billable does NOT equal your hourly wage).

But how much is your time worth? Ever think about that?

I did some preliminary calculations for me:

There are 168 hours in a week. I spend:

42 – 56 of them sleeping (6-8 hours sleeping a night, usually on the low end.)

40- 50 of them working

10.5 of them showering/ getting ready/ hair, etc.

3.75 on my commute to work a week.

2 of them grocery shopping

10.5 cooking at home & cleaning up the kitchen

8 or so on laundry and cleaning the house

12 or so at the gym.

Leaving me with 12-39 ish hours left a week to do other stuff. Like spending time with God. And my husband. Like knitting. Or walking the dog. Or blogging, reading, etc.

So I think I want to have my own “billable” rate in order to have the mindset that time IS valuable. Since I don’t like mental math, I am just going to tell myself that my rate is $100/ hr. Pretty steep, but spare time is precious commodity!

So, without further adieu, I present to you the back of my cabled sweater. It cost me $2,000 in time.


I wonder what the front will cost.

8 responses to “How Much?

  1. I like to think of it with a slightly different twist – compare that billable wage to the cost of the yarn. Divide the cost of the yarn by the hours spent knitting, and then think of how inexpensive a hobby knitting is for the hours of entertainment!

  2. It’s a priceless sweater! And worth every penny, I’m sure!

  3. Hey! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Your’s is GREAT! And, I love that sweater. I aspire to do cables some day, I have problems chart reading!

  4. People sometimes half jokingly ask if I will knit them one when admiring one of my sweaters. I then tell them how many hours it took and my billable rate (same as yours) at my day job. Most of my sweaters come in the $5000-10000 range. None have ever taken me as long as your cabled sweater.

    I did take a workshop on how to sew your own Chanel-style jacket using their hand-tailoring techniques. That jacket cost me as much as flying to Paris and having one made for me. 😉

  5. That is really beautiful! You did a great job on those cables.

    I’ve been thinking about time a lot lately and how precious it is. I have to be careful that I don’t waste it, just like we try to be careful not to waste money. And when you put it in monetary terms — wasting time can be very expensive! 🙂

  6. Your sweater is looking lovely! I don’t want to think about how much time I spend unwisely (like online!). 🙂

  7. Wow – that is beautiful. Yep – when people ask how much it would cost for me to knit them something like a sweater, my standard is “you can’t afford me!”

  8. Totally lovely cabled sweater – looks like you will wear it for years so don’t worry….

Leave a Reply

