A new obsession is brewing…


Yes, those are Runners World magazine on my coffee table. And yes, that is Vogue Knitting waaayyy off to the right.

I seem to have gotten the running bug. Now, you might say that I have had it for a while, seeing as how I just completed my first marathon a few weeks ago.

But… its… gotten….worse…..

I go to the gym and hop on the treadmill (no more running outside during the week- too dark and scary). I start running at a comfortable pace and then this voice tells me to go faster. I try to fight it, but there’s some logic behind the voice. And coercion.

“Make it worth your time.”
“The faster you run, the quicker you’ll be done.”
“You’ll burn more calories.”
“Don’t you want to get faster?”
“Don’t you want to win a medal?”

AHA! The clincher. Don’t you want to win a medal? Well, duh. I still have some competitive bones in my body. So I listen to the voice, and keep hitting the increase speed button until I am running for dear life, afraid of what will happen if I slow down and fall off the back of the treadmill. Every day, a little faster, a little farther. More reps in the weight room. I can feel it baby, its hurting, I am sore and I am getting stronger!

I got a little payoff for my hard work yesterday:

Third place (for age 20-24) in the Lindsay’s Legacy 5k. With a time of 26:10. Not bad considering I haven’t run a 5k since high school.

But… I …. must…. improve.

The Turkey Trot is a week and a half away. That’s 5 miles. I can’t wait!

Now, I am still knitting, don’t you worry. I have a few inches of cabled sweater front happening, but nothing significant to post.

I have, however, found some new possible projects, though I should be casting on for Christmas gifts…

These legwarmers/knee highs are so cool. And so complicated. Considering I am a sock failure. Eh hem, I mean a yet-to-have-accompished-a-sock-knitter.

Anyway, they have fair isle (which I have never attempted) and embroidery (which I have also never attempted).


The pattern is from Fall 2006 Vogue Knitting and is designed by Kristin Nicholas. Kristin seems very cool. It calls for Nashua Handknits/Westminster Fibers Julia (kid mohair/alpaca/wool). It looks like these will set me back about $80! Hmmmm Merry Christmas to me?

And this fabulous belted cardigan, designed by Margaret O’Leary, also found in the Fall 06 Vogue Knitting.

What I love about it is that there are 2 main cables and the rest is stockinette! Very nice, considering my current cable project has cables everywhere.

Off to start the week! Gotta run run run! Faster & Farther!

5 responses to “A new obsession is brewing…

  1. Oh, congratulations! That’s such a great accomplishment.

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love finding new Christian blogs to read.
    I used to love running. I was running a lot until my pregnancy with my youngest one slowed me down…then I herniated 2 discs in my back. I am still trying to strengthen my back enough that I can run. But I don’t think I would ever be able to run a marathon!!! Hooray for you!

    And the quote on the back of that medal, I saw that on a t-shirt at a triathalon my husband did. It is so awesome!!!

  3. Yeah! Congrats on the medal. Very Cool! Love those Kriston Nicholas socks but they wont be coming off my needles anytime soon either. Too scary…
    Thanks for visiting my blog. Stop by anytime!

  4. I want to make those socks. I really, really do. We should do them, and maybe get the fingering yarn from KnitPicks. http://www.knitpicks.com/yarns/Yarn_List.aspx

  5. The way you are feeling about running is the way I am feeling about cycling…the rest of the world is on “off season” now, and I’m wanting to ride like crazy though it’s dark here after work too. When my new bike comes in, I’ll be on the trainer as you are on the treadmill!

    I’m so glad you are sock-challenged as well. There aren’t too many of us in blogland, so we have to stick together!!!

Leave a Reply

