Project Spectrum planning, a delicate operation and one more FO!

To boldly go where this knitter has never gone before…

After reading my new book, Knitting without Tears, by Elizabeth Zimmerman, I have decided to take a leap of faith and attempt to design my own sweater. I will be following her Seamless Saddle Shoulder sweater pattern, which requires a bit more thinking and…. MATH… than I am used to. She suggests finding a favorite sweater that fits well and measuring that for starters. Then I would have to choose my yarn, swatch to determine gauge… and then do the math to figure out how many stitches to cast on. The only thing that I would like to ADD to the pattern would be a little shaping so it’s not too boxy. And of course I will be adding my own colors and intarsia design.

What I was looking for in a sweater was something fun and *warm* to wear snowboarding. I want it to look similar to a typical ski sweater, but with the snowboarding “edge.” Us boarders have to look a little edgy, you know! (Funny coming from a suburbanite DINKY). I am planning on having the colors be a darker grey and blue, Project Spectrum colors of course! The colors also happen to match my snow gear and brand spanking new board. The sweater will have a blue stipe across the chest that has a cross type intarsia section- I’d like this to look like a cross between the ski-patrol symbol and a snowflake. Or maybe the ski patrol cross with “V” coming out from it. I’ll have to work on this design after the yarn & gauge is determined and chart it out- also a first for me!

The goal date of the project would be ASAP so I could wear it boarding this year.

As far a yarns go, I am thinking a bulky weight so it will be nice and thick, but knit on smaller needles. Next week I am hoping to chat with the owner of my LYS store and get her feedback. I’m trying to buy local!

And now, the cable-oops operation

After making a mistake in the cable all the way down here… I am attempting to rip back the center section and reknit before I rip out the whole enchilada. Stay tuned.

One more FO!

Now that all the gifts pants are done, I finally finished mine. Next up- the matching tops for my DH, FIL, and me.

Another check on my resolutions…. 🙂

9 responses to “Project Spectrum planning, a delicate operation and one more FO!

  1. WOW! You are so brave to rip down that center section- I had never even thought of doing that! I hope it all works out perfect!

    I love Elizabeth Zimmerman. Believe me, once you get your gauge figured and figure out your stitches, it’s so easy to follow her directions. I think your design looks uber-cool!!

  2. Very impressive! I am right there with you in that i am trying to cross things off my New Years resolution list:) I have yarn for 2 sweaters and 2 shells. I plan on starting my poppy sweater and a vest very soon –maybe even tonight.

    Its cool that you are designing your own though! I can’t wait to see what you come up with:)

  3. I am jealous of your sewing skills! Taking a class is a good idea to get the basics down…I have the sewing machine, now I need to get the motivation to learn

  4. Oh my gosh! That is so ambitious ~ you go girl! I can’t wait to see your progress!

  5. Designing your own sweater is cool, and fearless…good for you. I love the stripe up your sleeves.

  6. I love the design- it looks like something you’re going to get a lot of wear out of. The sight of that ripped back cable scares me…. I hope it works and you are saved from a whole frogging. Those PJ’s look so comfy

  7. Oh goh your dog is too cute – my hubby’s parents got a new yorkie last year after their 16-yr. old yorkie passed away. I love yorkie’s – they are adorable. Can’t wait to see the sweater.

  8. Hi! Thanks for your comment on my blog. I’m so glad you stopped by. I’ve just ordered the EZ book!
    Nice pants.

  9. I’m amazed at your designing your own sweater — what fun! I hope to do that one day myself. For now, I’m contemplating altering a pattern and am wondering if I’ve lost my mind…I’ve never done this before.

    Congratulations on the pjs and tackling that cable!

Leave a Reply

