After a three hour tour…

I am off the island! Sleeve Island that is.

I never planned on being on the island this long. It’s been about 2 months. Mind you I was distracted by many other projects, Christmas knitting and quite simply a fear of my dropped cable. But the Knitting Doctor in me faced those fears and was able to fix the problematic cable.

Now it looks like I am stuck on “Seaming Island.” Does anyone actually like seaming? It’s such a drag! Especially with the larger knit of this pattern. I hope it turns out well after all this time! I do hope to wear it on Friday night to a Team in Training reunion party. I hope it turns out!!!!!!!!!!

My attention is starting to turn towards my long neglected knee highs particularly because I have figured out the two handed knitting when doing colorwork. Completely by accident! It is so much easier to knit this way- one hand continental, the other hand “regular. ” I will soon start the next FI chart.

Other than Lynne, is there anybody else in the world who has knitted these socks? A search on Flickr and Google have proved fruitless, much to my dismay. I would love to see photos of others and how people are wearing them. As I sit and knit these last night, my husband asked, “What are you going to wear those with?”

“ahh…ummmm… I don’t think I have figured that out yet!” I replied, a little bit dumbfounded. These socks are very bold, colorful but they are also very bold and colorful, so I don’t know if they should be visible, like with a skirt, or a homebody kind of thing. I can see myself sipping an espresso in Brooklyn in these socks. Guess that means we need to go visit my SIL as soon as I finish! I could be trendy and cool in Brooklyn!

Lolly started this cool Flickr group called Handknit Street Style, where participants are challenged to show their handknits “in action.” Meaning, not some lame photo that we are all guilty of posting of our scarf or sweater lying on the coffee table (my signature layout!). I hope to post my sweater (if it’s worthy) there this weekend.

February is next week… and so is the beginning of Project Spectrum 2.0! I am quite excited. I am striving to get the knee highs off the needles asap so I can devote my time to my sweater creation. Other February/March projects will include a sweater for Mercy, for the Knit your dog a sweater KAL, and the Alpaca experiment scarf for my hubby. I think these will keep me busy!

I also have a special swap that I’m participating in that I am working on some secret gifts. πŸ™‚ Fun fun.

8 responses to “After a three hour tour…

  1. I haven’t been by in a bit…what GREAT socks and what a great sweater!!!! The socks look a bit familiar, but I’m not placing them…where is the pattern from?

  2. I don’t mind straight seams but putting in sleeves really taxes my knitting mojo. The socks are looking awesome, who needs to match? I like the idea of street style too.

  3. Hey thanks for the heads up on where the sock is from…I knew I’d seen it before! Now, just to find the time to knit all the things I want to!

  4. Congratulations on the sleeves! Were you able to wear it on Friday? I hope so. πŸ™‚

  5. (oops — I accidentally put Lisa’s website in instead of my own. Good grief. Maybe I should start drinking coffee…)

  6. Congratulations on finishing those sleeves! Seaming is tough but when you’re so close to the end, it’s fun to just plow through it and get to the finished sweater so you can try it on!

    I’m not sure about how to wear colorful socks but I’ll go over to Lolly’s site and see what others wear them with. Hope you had a good weekend!

  7. I am a terrible seamer.

    I love those socks! They should be worn proudly, but I might just wear them around the house.

  8. I hate seaming with a passion but deliberately choose projects that require it so I get better at it. Maybe then I won’t hate it so much is the logic. So far, it’s not working.

    Looks great though!

Leave a Reply

