It’s true :)

It’s true- I’ve been working on a 40-week WIP! We’re having a baby!

The next question I get is- so do you know what it is?

To which I usually reply, “DUH, a BABY.”

“No, I mean a boy or a girl.:

“Oh yeah, um… not yet.”

So one cannot find out the gender of the baby until reaching 20 weeks or something like that- so with me at 10-11 weeks… I’ve got a way to go! Part of me wants to be surprised the day the baby is born. Then another part of me wants to know- like maybe it will feel more real that we are having a baby! Plus then I could knit the appropriate colored throws, booties, hats, etc. I am ITCHING to knit baby stuff. I actually started knitting this cute matinee coat for a friend’s baby, but the baby outgrew it before I finished. I guess I could knit that up on vacation- and if we’re not having a girl then at least one out of my three pregnant friends is, right?

Finally- the lace shawl is blocking. I beat Lynne . She thinks it’s because I’m not working right now. I think it’s because I have been nauseous on the couch every night knitting this week! It’s amazing to think that this lace shawl has been sitting in my WIP pile since February 2006. Funny how we get distracted from one project and jump to another, and another, and another. Non-knitters definitely don’t understand that one.

Now- what project to pick up next???? I have a skein of this gorgeous Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sport (from a swap)… that I would love to do something with. Any suggestions for a skein of sport? I think I would even buy another skein to do some socks…. just need a pattern.

10 responses to “It’s true :)

  1. Congrats! How exciting for you. I have a new niece or nephew and 3 grandbabies coming this year. HOLY BUCKETS! I’ve started knitting felted diaper bags that are turning out really cute. Hope you getting to feeling better soon…

  2. Yeah – I hope you start feeling better too! Well done on the lace, it looks pretty complicated. I love that Lorna Lace’s yarn too. I could look at it all day.

  3. Congratulations! I am so happy to hear your good news. 🙂

  4. It’s so exciting!!
    I am all for waiting to find out, there’s something so fun in hearing it’s a …..! Although I just instinctively knew the first was a boy and the second was a girl. And who says babies can’t just wear whatever color? 😉

  5. Whoa! You really have been knitting that shawl! Congratulations! Do you love it?

  6. That lorna’s laces is stunning! Would it make a little jacket? Like the baby kimono in the back of Interweave summer 05? And if you have a boy, well you could gift it to somebody special.

  7. Your lace is beautiful! Would the LL make a hat? Those are nice bright colors on a cold winter, or spring, day.

  8. Congratulations!!!
    You could make a little baby hat with the Lornas.

  9. Congratulations on the baby news! And congratulations on finishing your beautiful shawl!

  10. The shawl came out beautiful – I think I could wear it with my halter dress!!

Leave a Reply

