A half way resurrected WIP

Ever decide to resurrect something small and simple from your UFO pile? Something that you should be able to create a finished product within a day or so with?

Well, that was the idea- BUT I RAN OUT OF YARN.

Now mind you, this was maybe half a left over skein from Blogless Faith when we all were doing the cabled purses extravaganza last spring, but I truly thought I had enough Lamb’s Pride to make a small clutch. Trying to appease my FO appetite over here but no! I have run out of yarn. Which has now sent me into a wild goose chase on the internet to find more Lamb’s Pride Fat Burly Spun (I think that’s what it is) in this amazing lime color.

I also am swatching with my Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sport in Bittersweet for the Child’s Placket Neck- Pullover from “Last Minute Knitted Gifts” .

So far size 7 needles got me 4 inches across with 21 stitches and 32 rows but about 4 1/2 inches high. So I will swatch with size 6 tonight. I need a perfect 4 x 4 square right? Swatching and gauge has never come easy for me. Apparently I don’t knit right because I almost never get the right size with the recommended needles. Anyway if it does swatch up, I’m going to need another skein of that too!

If at first you don’t succeed, try try again!

5 responses to “A half way resurrected WIP

  1. The Lorna’s Lace’s yarn looks gorgeous. I’m sure it’ll make a great jumper (pullover/sweater).

    And I can feel for you running out of yarn. At my knitting group a few weeks ago, I ran out of yarn half way through the 3rd last row of my item. I had to stop knitting (pretty hard at a knitting group). So frustrating so I feel your pain!

  2. The placket neck pullover is a great little sweater- I have gifted one before. There are corrections on the internet- maybe at purl’s website. Make sure you check in there before you get far!

    And you don’t knit wrong. The needle size is just a suggestion. I am usually surprised when I end up using the suggested size!

  3. I’m thinking of knitting the placket neck sweater, too. I love the Lorna’s Lace for yours!

  4. I have such a love/hate with swatches! Generally, need to go down a needle size. Frustrating when the swatch says one thing and the knitted object says, well another! I think the Berocco distributor (at least here in ME) will send an email out to all the LYS to ask if they have the same dye lot, she does LP, at least worsted, and probably burly…worth investigating!

  5. That is going to be a cute sweater! Good luck finding the green yarn, it sucks running out just before you finish.

Leave a Reply

