Blocking, swatching, and frogging- oh my!

The Paton’s V-Neck Sweater, knit with Wool of the Andes, has been blocked and she’s ready to be seamed, never mind that it’s over 90 degrees in most of the country! The blocking project took up every conceivable space in my basement- the sewing table, the cutting table, the laundry folding table so no sewing took place yesterday. What’s a girl to do? Start a swatch? No, I organized my spice cabinet and discovered that I had two celery seeds and two ground turmerics. I can’t think of one recipe that I have used either of those in, but thankfully I will not run out any time soon!

Jo Sharp was swatched for the Last Minute Knitted Gifts Cami while I was waiting to get the oil changed in the car.

And Sizzle has Fizzled and will be tossed to the frog pond. Sorry Sizzle, but you were never meant to be. I’ll be repurposing the yarn for the baby’s room, project to-be-determined. Perhaps a blanket of squares.

Today I’ll be going up to the beach to watch my friend’s daughter at their beach house. I have babysat her since she was barely a year old- and now she’s 10! Amazing how they grow up so fast. I have been teaching her to knit over the past few years. We’re working on a purse right now. Somedays I wish it would be rainy so we could knit all day, but I do get some poolside knitting done on most sunny days. I have my Dublin Bay socks I could work on, but the cast on edge looks weird and I haven’t decided if I should bag it and try again for the 4th time or have faith that blocking will change the edge. Seaming up there might be difficult and the lace edge on the cami would require too much concentration- and I will most likely be starting and stopping to help little S with her project every few minutes. So many choices…

I’ll be happy to come home to some homemade kiwi sorbet that Keith and I made this weekend:

It’s incredibly refreshing and quite easy to make.

7-8 kiwis, peeled and quartered

2 tbsp lemon zest

6 tablespoons lemon juice

3/4 cup water

3/4 cup sugar

Combine 1 tbsp of sugar and the lemon zest. Set aside.

Combine water & sugar in a pan. Bring to a boil, remove from heat. Let chill in refrigerator 1-2 hours (or a half hour in the freezer like I did). Blend kiwi, lemon juice, and lemon zest in a blender or food processor. Add sugar/water syrup to blender and mix well. Transfer to and ice cream maker and follow your manufacturer’s instructions.

If you don’t have an ice cream maker, you can just freeze the mixture in an 8 x 12 dish. Once frozen, let thaw slightly, remove from dish and blend in a blender or food processor.

Yum!

5 responses to “Blocking, swatching, and frogging- oh my!

  1. Knitting projects this time of year are so unappealing to me because of our lovely muggy, hot weather. Your sweater is looking good though and I bet you will love it when it cools down. That sorbet looks divined!

  2. wow, you are one busy little mama! My sizzle got gifted to my sister because it was too big for me. The yarn is a great color for a baby’s room, though!

    Have fun at the beach!

  3. I can’t wait to see the jumper (ahem…sweater) or the cami in its finished form….

  4. Hey, good for you, Dana! Your Paton’s sweater is done! Don’t try it on until later in the week, though, when it’s cooler! I am looking forward to seeing you Thursday…I’ll give you a call tomorrow!

  5. MMMM! Kiwi sorbet! Sounds (and looks) wonderful!!!! I love the color of that Jo Sharp yarn – I’ve recently noticed that I like that color so much that it seems to be a bit overrepresented in stash. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

