Haf-Caf will Have to be Enough

I love coffee. I love the smell of coffee wafting from the kitchen in the morning, beckoning me to wake up and have a cup.

I like cappacinos, mochas, dark roasts, light roasts, medium roasts, espresso… The best coffee I ever had was on a missions trip in Costa Rica about 3 years ago. The stuff was so cheap to buy but oh so rich. I think the brand we had at our hacienda was Oro- which means gold. I remember waking up early before all the kids and sitting at the kitchen counter with my friend Jennifer, staring at the coffee maker as our black gold was brewed. It was the perfect compliment to our morning devotional time. Mmmmm coffee.

One thing I did not like was decaf. “What’s the point?” I’d ask.

I’ll admit, I was a coffee addict. Then my DH and I learned that we were expecting- and that excessive caffeine was not good for the baby. Ugh! I quit coffee cold turkey during those first 3 months and the combination of coffee withdrawal and first trimester exhaustion was quite impressive. I found myself nodding off at the oddest times of day.

Since that time I researched that less than 200-300 mg of caffeine per day was okay for me to have, or the equivalent of one cup of coffee. As a coffee connousseur, our coffee cups hold WAY more than one cup.

I didn’t want to have a half-full coffee cup every morning- so my solution was half-caf. And half-caf will have to be enough for me. For now πŸ™‚

4 responses to “Haf-Caf will Have to be Enough

  1. Yeah, the coffee thing! I was caffeine free (or usually) for about a year prior to becoming pregnant. I got the chicken pox! And the caffeine really started bothering my breasts about that time (I think it’s related to that virus, but who knows) so I quit gradually. 3/4 then 1/2 then 1/4 caf. And stayed off until the kiddo was maybe 2. But I do love it and have not stopped since! Carrabassett Coffee (they deliver) has a fantastic decaf, more flavorful than most regulars, called Sumatran Decaf. I realized that if I had a second child I wouldn’t be so anal about things like caffeine and sugar, cut down sure, but not cut out!

  2. hi, i’m a stranger πŸ™‚
    and i can’t imagine cutting out coffee! but it seems that you got yourself a game plan πŸ˜‰

  3. I had to cut out the coffee during pregnancy too. I also couldn’t drink it while I was nursing because it affected my son. I used to live off the stuff, bad or good! Now that I can drink it again, I don’t have it very often… go figure. I hope this solution works for you.

  4. Not when I was pregnant (in 1980), but when I needed to cut way back on my intake of coffee, I bought a little baby cup from Hallmark. It was half the size of a regular cup. Worked like a charm, because I used it and drank along with my friends, but half as much. Of course, nowadays you could use an espresso cup. Sorry I have not commented here for quite some time. I sort of lost track of you! I am putting you on my blog again! (Had an embarrassing delete prob I did not want to tell my daughter about!)

Leave a Reply

