Nursery Progress

Isn’t it nice when your hard work comes together and you just love the finished product? I’ve been working for weeks on finding fabrics and patterns for our baby’s nursery, and have been sewing and putting together things that have been waiting to be hung.

 

The crib quilt and bumper from Simplicity 4504! The only modification I made to these two was skipping the contrast piping on both the quilt and top of the bumper. I didn’t think piping would add anything to these fabrics.

The curtains required a wee bit more modification, because the pattern made a shade that was 40″ x 50″ and I needed 33″ x 66″. We still need to trim the dowels on the bottom and slip stitch them into place, but you get the idea.

Now, the only problem I have is with the crib itself. We purchased the “Nursery in a Box” by Rockland from JC Penney’s that included a crib and changing table for 199.99. My grandmother wanted to buy us a crib, but kept having a stroke over how much they cost (she thought we could get a crib for like 50 bucks or something). I made the mistake of believing my 83 year old grandma on how much things should cost and now we have a cheap crib that I don’t like. It’s not easy to adjust the rail and I can’t imagine how much tougher it will be with a screaming baby in my arms. It’s super light and I feel like it’s not sturdy enough. We didn’t put the changing table together but I am sure it is the same quality of the crib.

UGH! All the time Keith and I spent putting it together last night!!!!!!!!!!! My mom’s coming over today to help me decide if I should keep it or return it.

5 responses to “Nursery Progress

  1. Beautiful! I especially love the window treatments.

  2. I love the window treatments! As for the crib, if you aren’t sure, thenyou should probably return it….

  3. Love your fabric choices! I’d return the crib if you’re wondering about the quality. A good one’s worth it in the long run, especially if there may be more using it in the future.

  4. Sounds like you have already made your decision about the crib….and I love how the fabrics turned out, you did a really great job!

  5. Wow, love the look of the baby’s room. Ten years ago, we had NOTHING like this to choose from, and I did not sew. That’s a problem. heh. Can’t wait to see the baby!

Leave a Reply

