Ahoy Mateys! We have made it to Dublin Bay!

Somehow during NBC’s Today Show, I found an almost finished Dublin Bay Sock #2 in my hands.

Stop the presses! We have a pair of socks happening here!

I quickly sprinted to the finish line and happily grafted the toe, anxious to take some FO photos! Unfortunately, I am not the greatest sock photographer and I will have to have Keith take some more interesting shots outside later today.

Without further adieu….

Pattern: Dublin Bay Socks, a freebie from Mossy Cottage Sock Patterns.

Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Bittersweet.

Needles: Crystal Palace Bamboo DPNs, Size 1, also known as toothpicks

Started Easter-ish 2007, finished August 24, 2007.

Comments: I made a wee modification by accident to the heel- on the first sock I misread the directions for the Eye of a Partridge Heel (click here for detailed photo) and ended up with a ribbed heel. I realized this mistake when I started on the heel for #2 and I decided to make the socks match instead of ripping back on the finished #1. I also knitted into the back of the loops in the lace section, not quite sure if I was supposed to do this or not, which made the lace panel a little less lacey.

This was my first finished pair of socks for me, and after I faithfully picked up these tiny tiny needles, I came to like the sock knitting experience. The changes while knitting a sock are fun, from the ribbing, to the leg, the heel, gusset, instep, and the final toe decreases- plus the incredible portability is great. I actually enjoyed grafting the toes too! Sick, I know, but it’s only about 16 stitches to go through on each needle and viola, you are done. I wonder how long socks would take if I stuck to one project… probably less than 4 months I would imagine.

I don’t think I will become a sock knitting maniac or anything, but I definitely see more sock knitting in my future. Specifically, I need to finish the foot section of my Kristin Nicholas Wild Legwarmers, which I totally plan to bring to the hospital to wear around after our baby is born (gotta jazz up that ugly hospital gown getup somehow!), and I would also like to make a pair of short socks in a sport weight to wear there as well.

Ahhhhhh… the feeling of relief when a long time WIP is finished. Now my weekend is starting on a great note!

11 responses to “Ahoy Mateys! We have made it to Dublin Bay!

  1. Pretty finished socks! Hooray for a WIP done!

  2. Very pretty! I have got to get started on a pair…seems like Monkey is the way to swing these days!

  3. Those are the most beautiful first pair of socks I’ve ever seen!

  4. Yay! Those socks look really good. I plan to start my first pair in October. I hope mine turn out as nice as yours.

  5. Those are great! I love that yarn- great colors. Nothing like wearing handknit socks in the hospital either πŸ™‚

  6. Dana,

    Stop by Have Ewe Any Wool – Linda is SO nice! I miss WNY.

    Have a great day!

  7. Wow–excellent (first) socks! Actually, beautiful socks whatever number they may be!

  8. Very pretty socks in a beautiful colour! I like socks because you have definite milestones as to how far you are. There’s the ribbing, the heel turn,the toe….

  9. So nice, Dana! Very pretty socks.

  10. Yay for gorgeous socks! My first socks were frogged, not finished. So I’m in complete awe of anyone that can say they finished their first socks and they actually fit a person!! πŸ™‚

  11. Pingback: Just a little monkeying around « Life in abundance…

Leave a Reply

