One month already?

It is hard to believe that a month has already gone by since our daughter was born! It seems to have gone by so fast, and yet we feel as though we’ve had her forever.

Here she is in the world’s cutest handknit kimono from Anna:

And here she is sleeping in her basinette while her furry sister keeps watch over her. (and no, our bed is not made- a detail neglected due to the infant in the house!)

We’re all doing well and sleeping well considering the circumstances. The baby eats about every 2-3 hours during the day and does a 4-5 hour stretch at night, then a 3 hour stretch after that…. so I think we’re doing ok. I tried the “3 hour schedule” and it worked for a week, but then she was doing the 3 hours routine at night over the weekend. And when you go from 4 or 5 hours at night to 3- that is no fun. i think she might be going through that 5-6 wk growth spurt, as she has been wanting to eat more frequently in the past few days.

When she nods off to sleep during the day, I’ll finally get to eat lunch or do a load of laundry… but as soon as I try to lay down her eyes pop open! And I never thought that washing & drying my hair would show up on my to-do list, or that a few simple errands, if timed incorrectly, would leave me in the car with a screaming baby trying to figure out a place to breastfeed her (thankfully I stopped at a relative’s house that was nearby).

All in all, things are going well! Thanks for all the wonderful comments and support!

12 responses to “One month already?

  1. So sweet! I’m glad you’re all doing well :o)

  2. She’s so cute! I’m glad everything is okay.

  3. What a little angel! Thank you for sharing your updates, I was hoping that everything was going well 🙂

  4. Look how georgeous she is! Cute sweater too. I remember that frantic driving screaming baby stuck in traffic thing. I managed after some 20 minutes to pull into a parking lot to breastfeed in the car. And how you feel like such a horrible person letting the baby scream in the carseat and how you have to because you can’t take the baby out of the seat while driving. And, from experience, I tell you that carseats are a wonderful life saving device. We were in a horrible accident when the kiddo was 18 months. We both lived, though he had a greenstick fracture in his leg. So keep your baby safe! (he healed so quickly, even without a cast, and was walking again w/in 3 weeks-babies are so AMAZING!). I wouldn’t have noticed about your bed… nice tight blue sheets. And sounds like you have the sleep thing working for you. Enjoy every second of her babyhood!

  5. I just tagged you…do you feel like being random? Read my blog for details…BAM

  6. What a cutie! Love the “guard” dog!

  7. That is such a cute picture with Mercy watching over the little one! I’m glad you’re all doing well.

  8. Beautiful baby! Love the pic with Mercy napping alongside.

  9. She looks beautiful and the jacket is lovely.

  10. Awww! Congratulations and blessings to you on your little one. She is beautiful. What a glorious Christmas this will be for you and your family. Thanks be to God.

  11. She is so cute and so is Mercy guarding over her. I’m glad you’re getting some sleep although not as much as I’m sure you want to. I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas!

  12. My daughter is 27 and I still don’t make our bed! Merry Christmas to all of you!

Leave a comment