A little baby, a little knitting

Even with a new baby, I have found a little time to knit. A little. Not a lot.

Which is why Kim’s Hats from Last Minute Knitted Gifts is perfect knitting for me right now. A small project, knit on size 9 DPNs, is bound to be finished quickly. I found enough left over Sierra yarn from Knitpicks (I think they are calling it Cadence yarn now) in my stash to make two hats- one for our baby and one for our friend’s baby who is 3 1/2 months.

I’m waiting to add the pom poms and tassels until the second hat is finished, so I don’t run out of yarn, and I am planning on lining the hats with some sort of fleece. I’m never lined something I have knitted before, so hopefully I’ll find a tutorial somewhere.

Did you notice the organza bag all my projects items are in? The baby received a few gifts that were inside bags like these and I LOVE using them to house my projects! They are infinitely more chic than my regular zip-lock bags.

When do I have time to knit? Mostly when my husband has been attempting to give the baby a bottle. I am breastfeeding exclusively (which turned out to be not as hard as I had anticipated) so feeding our little one a bottle of expressed milk has been Keith’s nightly project. I hide in the basement so the baby doesn’t hear, see or smell me, and try to concentrate on knitting instead of her loud protests. I also try to catch up on my blog reading too.

We’ve been encouraged by our pediatrician to persevere with the bottle despite the tears. She eventually will get the hang of it and enjoy being fed by someone other than mama. We’ve been using the Medela bottles with the orthodontic slow flow nipple thus far, but we put the Dr. Brown’s bottle on our Amazon Wishlist. The Dr’s recommended them. I’m currently waiting for Keith to wake up to see if the bottles could be wrapped up under our Christmas tree.

But these two are the best presents!

Merry Christmas everyone!

7 responses to “A little baby, a little knitting

  1. What a lovely Christmas….nice to know that new mommies get in a little knitting here and there 🙂

  2. She is so sweet! I am so happy you are breastfeeding. It is a bit of work but definitely well worth it. I had a horrible time with my first one because he couldn’t latch on right, then my second one was so easy!! We ended up breastfeeding for two years…I let him wean himself! I understand your “trying” to concentrate when the baby is crying. It is so hard, isn’t it? I am just so happy for you and I hope y’all have a fantastic Christmas and New Years!!!!

  3. My goodness…what a beautiful baby girl. I am so glad that things are going well. I remember those days so well…now all are either at college or working….sigh…Marcie is so sweet. What a good pup! Take care of yourself and glad to see you are able to post sometimes.

  4. Aren’t they both so cute?! We did the same thing with our daughter (bottles of expressed milk). It worked out well and my husband just reminded me that “It’s the only way you could get out of the house.” 🙂

  5. What a darling picture of your babies! Cute little hat too. I’m impressed that you are managing to squeeze a little knitting in with a newborn – I remember it took me quite a while to figure out how to juggle it all. Wish I’d knit more for them when they were tiny! Enjoy!

  6. Just look at those cuties! 😉 Hope you and your family have a wonderful and blesses New Year!

  7. Pingback: Keeping Warm « Life in abundance…

Leave a Reply

