Santa loves knitters

Santa was good to the knitter in me *:

Ahhh… Vintage Knits. I have oooed and ahhhed over this book for quite some time. Now I can oooo and ahh over the patterns! Another piece of good news is that my LYS will soon be stocking Rowan yarns, just in time for me to cast on for one of these beauties.

I knit 2 pairs of socks this past year, and actually completed one pair during Socktoberfest. I had so much fun knitting them, once I got the hang of it, but once I wore them post baby…….. wow- there is nothing like handknit socks on your feet! I think there are over 1000 possible combos of styles in this book.

Can you tell how ecstatic I was to receive this? As you can see, sock knitting is on the agenda for 2008. A neat side note about this book is the history of handknit socks and how sock knitting developed. When these patterns were originally written, some called for steel 00000 DPNs. Yes, quintuple zeros. Thankfully Nancy bush reworked the patterns for DPNs 0-2, a much more realistic size needle.

Now I just need to find some sock yarn worthy of the patterns!

Has anyone knit a project from one of these books? What’s your favorite?

*yes, this is me Christmas morning in my pj’s and sans makeup.

8 responses to “Santa loves knitters

  1. Congratulations on your great books. You look terrific!

  2. Dano! I embroidered something for Michael today–I thought you would be proud =) And I love the pic with you and the salad spinner. You and Mike both love that thing!

    P.S. I should add that not only do you look great on Christmas morning in your PJs and without makeup, but you also somehow do it with a nocturnal (and ridiculously adorable) infant as well!
    P.P.S I love reading your blog…even though I don’t understand any of the technical knitting stuff. I should really get you to teach me!

  3. Bloglines must not have been picking you up, but did today. Love the happy, happier, happiest pictures! And don’t worry about sans makeup pics, you are beautiful as is. So’s the little peanut! We never got the bottle thing to work, but then we only tried once…

  4. Wow! Those are some great Christmas presents. I have the first two books and just love them. I’ll have to check out the Knitting Vintage Socks book though cause I want to start making socks in ’08.

    I think you look fabulous sans makeup on Christmas morning! Your glasses are really cute!

  5. Happy New Year! I’m very jealous of your Christmas knitting gifts… I wish I had those books. Maybe next year. Your baby is looking so sweet and I love the knits you’ve done so far. If the Dr. Brown’s bottle doesn’t work, we had success with Avent (using the smallest size nipple). She will get the hang of it!

  6. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! You definitely have much to be thankful for. The books are great – and I love that baby hat in the previous post!

  7. Vintage Knits is one of my favorite books ever! I love the little earflap hat….tooo cute!

  8. You got two of my favorite books! I am working on my 2nd sweater from Vintage Knits now, and I have made several pairs of socks from Vintage Socks. I hope they bring as much knitty joy to you as they have to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

