Exercise? Free Time? What is that?

Even though I thought I was in the clear to exercise as of January 2nd, I had a teeny setback in the postpartum healing and I was back on the no exercise deal. Fortunately an ultrasound revealed that everything was okay, just a blood clot that will resolve on its own, and now I am allowed to work out.

Of course Sweet Pea had been amazingly predictable for 2 days prior to getting the go-ahead, making me think that I could get to the gym before my husband left for work and/ or doing an exercise video during her afternoon nap. NEGATIVE. She was completely unpredictable. Nursing at all sorts of weird times, not taking a nap for more than 20 minutes, etc. So I have yet to get to the gym. If the morning and afternoon time slots fail, I am hoping to maybe go at night while my husband gives her a bottle (and yes, bottles are still battles with her). This way I’ll be out of the house during operation take-a-bottle-please-don’t-cry.

I am also starting to realize that once you think you have your child figured out, they go and do something completely different. So maybe it is best to just go with the flow of chaos for the next twenty years?

9 responses to “Exercise? Free Time? What is that?

  1. I’m having the same problem, working out when to get out of the house and leave my little cherub. I’ve been wanting to go swimming for the last few days and everytime I think I can go she needs feeding. Guess I’m going to have to settle for walks in the pram. Good luck!

  2. Yes, going with the flow is a good idea. Raising children doesn’t seem to be a very predictable job. πŸ™‚

  3. yup, uh-huh. you’ve got it! Can you get one of those exercise balls and figure out things you can do at home (and even holding the sweetpea?).

  4. Yup…the next twenty or so years! She’ll settle down. It’s amazing how quickly our babies are tuned into us and demanding of “our time!” Hey, I have a gift for the Sweet Pea if you are out for a drive!

  5. Oh, the gift? Been sitting here at my desk for two weeks!

  6. If it is any consolation to you, I found getting out to exercise far harder than the exercise itself on the healing post-partum bod. I just felt so bad leaving. It seems silly to me now (I’d leave this circus in a heartbeat, baby) but I remember it mattered a lot to me then. Good luck and don’t push yourself!!!

  7. The first year of babyhood is a total rip-off! It goes by way too fast, so enjoy the chaos while it lasts πŸ™‚ In a few years you’ll be burning rubber in the driveway to go anywhere alone lol.

  8. I am so happy for you and your husband and your new little sweet-pea. I know how difficult it is to find time to shower let alone exercise, but eventually it does happen. I can’t believe my “babies” are 13 and 14 already. Good heavens! Have a great weekend!

  9. Sweetpea’s sleep will consolidate into a more predictable schedule in the next couple of months. My son was completely unpredictable until he was about 4 to 5 months old. It can be a challenge to get anything done! You will be working out again before you know it.

Leave a Reply

