What happens when mama gets sick?

 I sat down Tuesday night to work on these booties:

When I suddenly got the chills. I fed Sweet Pea one last time at 11pm, hoping and praying that she would  sleep through the night- and she did! It was a good thing, because my chills turned into a full blown stomach flu bug, complete with naseau, fever, aches and pains, and I was up the rest of the night.

My husband stayed home from work to take care of Sweet Pea while I  stayed in bed all day, getting up only to feed the baby. I was so weak that I couldn’t even pick up my child to burp her. Then, miraculously last night, 24 hours after it started, it was over. Keith went back to work today and we’re doing ok now, just a little tired and needing to disinfect the house.

Maybe I should have gotten a flu shot?

10 responses to “What happens when mama gets sick?

  1. I’m glad you’re OK now. That sounded terrible!

  2. I’m so glad you are feeling better! The bootie is adorable, too, by the way. 🙂

  3. Ugh – I also forgo the shot and know I shouldn’t. Hopefully you’re done for the season. It’s so tough to be sick with a little one to care for 😦 Glad you’re feeling better, and I love the booties!

  4. Yuck, what a horrible feeling. Lucky you that your hubby was able to stay home and help out! Baby booties are in the air, eh? 🙂 Yours are really adorable. Mine are from Debbie Bliss’s Baby Knits for Beginners. I was able to find it at our local library

  5. Alas, a flu shot would not have prevented what you got. what you had sounds like the noro virus. which is a stomach bug, but not the flu. It ususally lasts about 72 hours (24 coming, 24 staying to visit and 24 going) and is also what I had last weekend too! So I feel for ya. But the flu shot would not have prevented it. So don’t kick yourself.

  6. nah… like Carol said. Glad you’re better… but if there’s ever a next time, have dh bring the baby to you in bed. Those are some cutie booties!

  7. I am glad that you are feeling better. It isn’t easy to be sick with a baby. You have been a very busy girl with your knitting and sewing. It is a reflection of how happy you are. It is wonderful to hear about Sweet Pea and your crafting, looking forward to reading more.

  8. Uck – I’m so happy you’re feeling better, that sounds horrible! =)

  9. Glad to hear the crud left nearly as quick as it came! Hope no one else gets it at your house. We are fighting the crud here as well….but it is the coughing sinus congesting kind…that lasts about 3 days! ICK!

    Cute bootee!!

  10. Glad you’re feeling better – hope the baby doesn’t catch it!

Leave a Reply

