White carbs and sugar: the new drug

Why are carbs and sugar so addicting? My word, once you have one bite, you just MUST. GET. MORE. It’s just so hard to say no when you have the goods in your house.

I am almost 4 months post-partum and really starting to make more of an effort to get back into “fighting shape.” The first month or so after Sweet Pea was born, the weight just literally melted off. It was pretty amazing, considering I was not exercising at all. Now I have about 5-8 pounds left to get back to pre-pregnancy weight, and about 15-20 to get to my wedding day weight, and about 20-25 to get to my early college weight. You know, back when it wasn’t super embarrassing if my stomach accidentally showed. Right now that is SUPER embarrassing, due to extra weight, stretch marks (battle wounds as I like to call them), and “muffin top”- what my friends and I call that little poof of flesh above your jeans we all have since having a baby.

My 5 motivating factors:

1- Our upcoming trip to California to visit Keith’s family. We leave in 3 weeks and I refuse to buy new summer clothes, so I need to fit into my old ones!

2- Sweet Pea’s baby dedication at the end of April. We will be standing in front of our entire church and I would like to feel and look my best!

3- A wedding we are attending on May 25th.

4- A half marathon I am training for, which is also on May 25th. (The race starts at 7 am so I’ll be done in plenty of time to get ready for the wedding!)

5- The biggest one. I don’t want my daughter to grow up and hear me ask “Do I look fat in this?” all the time.

2 responses to “White carbs and sugar: the new drug

  1. I think it took until I stopped nursing for that last 5-8 pounds to go away… (1) you should buy yourself at least one something you really like and look fabulous in, (2) remember, good fit goes miles and miles towards making you look slim, (3) ditto, (4) marathon fit doesn’t necessarily = lose weight… great goal!, (5) doesn’t matter what you say or don’t say… she’ll probably still think along those lines (unless society makes a humongous change).

Leave a Reply

