Run Mercy Run

I came across a cool article in this month’s Runners World.

See Spot Run.

There are not only dog-walkers in the world, but dog-runners. People who are paid to take your dog out for a run.

Hmmm. I could do that!

Some of you may know that I run with Mercy. It’s quite a sight to see, I would imagine. You picture her kind in a foo-foo purse walking down Main as opposed to running full speed.

She can’t help it. She has two speeds: Fast and Faster.

I don’t seem to have a photo of her and I running together (I promise to get some soon), but here is one of her and Keith running.

I take Mercy with me on my Easy runs, not because she couldn’t keep up on a tempo run, but rather because I need to concentrate on those! Easy runs are relaxed, and not really for time, and it’s not a big deal to have to make a potty stop a few times for Mercy. I can stop at the fountain in town and she can get a drink, or we can cruise over to the creek and get a little wet.

Mercy doesn’t get a run in everyday, but if the weather permits, she and I and Sweet Pea will get out for a walk. A happy dog is a tired dog.

The vet says that she is ideal body weight.

I say she’s a machine.

5 responses to “Run Mercy Run

  1. Layla and I walk 3-4 mornings a week…. and she’d MUCH rather be running the whole time!

  2. Isn’t it great when the vet likes their body weight? 🙂 Proud parent??!!

  3. Our Lucy would love to run – but a runner, I am not! I want to thank you again for the fabulous DOT SWAP package. I have a picture of Lucy wearing the scarf today. g

  4. How cute! My father walks his little dogs and half the time he ends up carrying them home. That’s a sight!! They are much older then Miss Mercy though, so she has a while before she needs to be carried home

  5. My Golden is a much happier *better* dog when my husband runs him. It is good for both of them! People get paid to run other peoples dogs? Wow.

Leave a Reply

