Covered in Cables

And I think she likes it! I know I do.

It’s the Cabled Coat with Hood from Debbie Bliss’ Baby Cashmerino book. This pattern was the reason I bought the book!

The specs:

Size: 6-9 months

Yarn: Knitpicks Swish Superwash DK in Cornflower (I couldn’t spring for cashmere when I knew there would be spit up on it!)

Needles: Size 3 addi’s- the pattern said that you would need size 2 and 3, but nowhere in the pattern did I see any indication to use the size 2’s… so I just used the 3’s.

Started: January 2008

Finished: May 2008

I love this coat. I am SO happy that we have a little bit of a cold spell here in late May so that Sweet Pea can wear this!

The 6-9 month size should, by all indications, fit her throughout next winter, due to the longer style of the coat.

I do no have any buttons for this yet, because I am a little nervous about the choking hazard it would pose. I plan on waiting until Sweet Pea is past the put-everything-in-your-mouth stage before buying buttons. I also had not sewn the pocket linings down when I took the above photos.. I’ll get to that soon…

Cabling without a cable needle is a must for this project and a new skill that I have mastered after finishing this!

And we got to show it off last week at my cousin’s lacrosse game:

15 responses to “Covered in Cables

  1. fireflynights

    Sweet Pea really does look sweet in the photos and the color is great on her.

  2. Looks great and it also looks like it will fit for a while! Good job!!

  3. Oh I love those last two pictures! Beautiful sweater!

  4. Awwwwwwwwww!
    Hey, that is the reason I bought that book too!
    (Now if one of my sisters would just go and have some kids!)

  5. Sweet Pea is so adorable! The coat looks great on her too. It definitely looks like it will fit her into next winter. Great job!

  6. It’s so beautiful! I love cabling w/o a needle. Makes it so much faster and easier.

  7. The coat looks great and she looks great in it! Have you thought about sewing on a short I-cord on each side as a tie… just one an inch or 2 down from the neck??

  8. She looks absolutely adorable in it!!

  9. Its stunning! (And just the right size! I had horrible thoughts it was going to be huge…but once again, it was just the camera angle!)

  10. I love the coat! I am pretty sure Sweat Pea will never say she doesn’t like something you ‘ve knitted her, risking never being knited for again!! (Besides it will be awhile before she can talk).

  11. The coat turned out great! And Sweet Pea looks adorable in it.

  12. It came out so cute!
    She’s beautiful- just like her mama 🙂

  13. Well, Purple is Sweet Pea’s color, isn’t it? Beautifully done, Dana!

  14. What does Uncle Michael do when he takes a break from staring at spreadsheets?????

    Looks at the Bananerz!

  15. pinch her cheeks for me! so cute! great color! Best with the move…right around the corner now. Blessings~Julie

Leave a Reply

