ESCAPE!

A Dogs on Thursday one day late post…….

Mercy escaped last night.

Keith had just gotten home from work and was changing into comfy clothes.

I had just returned home with Sweet Pea after an incredibly busy day and sat down in her rocker to nurse her.

We both suddenly realized that Mercy had not been let out. Keith sprinted downstairs to do so, as we are zealously protective of our freshly refinished floors with respect to doggy business.

He opened the back door and bent down to grab Mercy’s line when RABBITZILLA appeared in the middle of the yard.

I heard some loud barking, followed by silence, and then an “Uh oh, she’s gone.”

SP and I came downstairs to three-stooges-esque activity. I was running one way, Keith was running another, neither of us had shoes on, he was in his “drawers”, I had a baby in my arms.

Our neighbor showed up, breathless and barefoot with a spatula in hand. “Your dog!” Much panting.

“I was grilling steaks,” more panting, “and she ran past me chasing that rabbit! She went through the fence into the thick brush in the park!”

Sweet Pea went into the playpen while I grabbed a bag a treats. I ran into the yard and started calling for Mercy, interspersing her favorite words like “treats” and “chicken” and “go for a walk.” Keith had since gotten dressed and was running to the park.

It seemed like forever before I heard my neighbor yell, “He got her!”

Mercy had eventually given up her pursuit of rabbitzilla and was walking back on the path towards our street (was she coming home?). When she saw Keith, she turned around and started walking the OTHER way, with her tail between her legs and ears back! He commanded her to sit, which she did, and he scooped her up and brought her back home.

Phew!

I was thinking that her turning around and walking away was an illustration of us and God. He wants us to live a life of obedience to him not just for us to follow the rules, but to protect us. We want Mercy to stay in the yard to protect her! When we stray from Him, there are consequences to our actions. Sometimes even when we are confronted with truth we continue to do our own thing or even turn away, but He will scoop us up and bring us back.

What an amazing God.

“If a man owns a hundred sheep, and one of them wanders away, will he not leave the ninety-nine on the hills and go to look for the one that wandered off? And if he finds it, I tell you the truth, he is happier about that one sheep than about the ninety-nine that did not wander off. In the same way your Father in heaven is not willing that any of these little ones should be lost.” – Matthew 18:12-14

7 responses to “ESCAPE!

  1. I’m so glad you got Mercy. It’s always scary when they get loose isn’t it?

  2. So scary! That’s such a big fear of mine, as Layla will stay right in the garage or front yard with us…. yeah right, until she sees something she wants to go after. No more free range for her. I’m SO glad Mercy’s home safe and sound.

    Your illustration is right on.

  3. Oh my goodness… I am so glad she was found!

  4. Glad she didn’t get into too much trouble (not from you guys, but you know…). Amazing how if we look, we can find inspiration from our daily lives. I am such an out on the limb christian (most would say I’m not)… Had a conversation recently with a friend who is a Methodist minister… he was talking about how he divided his parishioners up into two groups, one was the sheep and one was the goats, and he asked what did he tell them. I said “sheep are stupid?” “No”. “C’mon, sheep ARE stupid”. Then we joked around about how I am such a goat. I think he said that he switched the groups around… illustration being that they are all loved. And then, being the anal intellectual tight butt that he is (and not that I’m not), he said, “well maybe God wants us to be like sheep and just do what we’re told to do”. What I know? Even if I’m a goat, I’m loved.

  5. What a heart-attack waiting to happen…s o sorry, but it does sound like she was trying to SNEAK her way back home, but got caught and felt all guilty!

  6. I think all pet owners have been there! I had to leave work one day and come home to help my husband track down our dog who “let himself out”. I like the scripture you shared. Very appropriate.

  7. Been there, done that. Sometimes it’s a rabbit. Other times it’s a squirrel. Usually it’s Roscoe. Sometimes it’s Mosby. All the time it’s a pain in the rear since we have a really steep back yard. Glad everything worked out okay and you got Mercy back.

Leave a Reply

