Knitting and Life

As I was working on the baby cape, I realized that I made a mistake. I was one stitch off in my counting- somewhere along the decreases and button holes I made a mistake.

The horror!

I was exhausted after a long day and just wanted to enjoy and evening of chilling on the couch with my husband while knitting. Of course, finding a mistake made me ever so slightly uptight and grumpy. Actually, I was RATHER uptight and grumpy about the whole thing.

I couldn’t go on without fixing the problem and yet I had no idea where in the sea of garter stitch I had goofed. Unable to go forward, yet not sure where to go back to.

My dear husband asked me in my distress if there were any life lessons in knitting, trying to get my mind off the missing stitch.

Why, yes, there are life lessons I have learned in knitting! What in particular did I learn from this?

Sometimes you can make a mistake and not realize it until much, much later. You can’t go on in good conscience unless that mistake is taken care of, that wrong made right. The end product would not be all it was meant to be unless the mistake was fixed! It can be difficult to go back and fix it (like over 600 stitches painstakingly undone one by one) but once it’s fixed, the road ahead is much smoother.

What have you learned from knitting?

3 responses to “Knitting and Life

  1. Are you kidding? I’m still trying to learn THAT lesson. I’m notorious for subbornly ignoring the problem and knitting on, regretting it later. Luckily, in real life I am getting better :o)

  2. That I have to fix it cause it will bother me if it’s not right. Good enough, isn’t. Sigh. I feel your pain. I once tinked back over 400 lace stitches on a sock because it was wrong….

  3. Yours is an EXCELLENT lesson, and you are so right. Knitting teaches me patience every time I pick it up.

    Good post, thanks.

Leave a Reply

