Bread Baking semi-S.O.S.

I seem to have figured out the whole wheat breadbaking deal, many thanks to Katie’s encouragement and others! I have a few favorite recipes from the King Arthur’s Website:

100% Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread

I haven’t been able to get a photo of a finished loaf because it starts disappearing as soon as it comes out of the oven! Keith’s PB&J sandwiches have been on this bread lately. Remember how he had once suggested I give up on bread baking? He now proudly tells his coworkers now that we make our own bread at home :).

Then there’s the King Arthur’s 100% Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread. Sounds like the same name, but it’s different. This also vanishes before being photographed.

This one uses some honey and calls for nuts and seeds. I omitted the nuts & seeds and replaced with 1/4c of ground flax seed. This bread was yummy, but I was advised by Sweet Pea’s pediatrician to not give her honey, even if it was cooked in a recipe until after she was 1 year. So, I gave her a slice (she’s 11.5 months- I thought she was close enough) and then we had a crazy spell of diaper-madness for a few days. I’m not sure if it was related to the bread or the inordinate amount of broccoli she consumed, but I stopped making this kind of bread.

It’s too time consuming to make one loaf of bread for the adults and one for the child!!!

Then, I decided to try Italian bread on 2 separate occasions, using the Italian Bread 101 recipe.

I kneaded, I rolled, I braided..

It rose and I was so excited! It looked delicious.

Then I did an egg wash and the whole thing deflated. It ended up like ciabatta bread, which is still yummy, but not what I intended. Apparently the egg wash was too cool for the risen bread.

So I tried again, this time nuking the egg white so it was lukewarm. Again it deflated but not as much. The other thing is that the bread had a slightly sour taste. Just slight. ?!?!?!?

Any favorite italian bread recipes? Egg wash tips?

3 responses to “Bread Baking semi-S.O.S.

  1. Mmm…homemade bread!

  2. Hey! The ww bread looks great! Congratulations! I think maybe the flax seed could have been the culprit for the blowouts (or whatever sweetpea had, I’m just guessing, lol!). But, who knows? Maybe that *and* the broccoli did it to her.

    The italian loaf looks like you let it rise too long. See the giant air pockets on the surface? That’s why it would deflate when you touched it with the egg wash. Try letting it rise a little less–the sour taste (was it a little bit alcoholic?) and all of those bubbles are a dead giveaway for over-rising. It will get a last big bang rise in the oven, anyway, so letting dough be slightly underrisen before baking is generally OK.

  3. very nice. I can’t bake. Gave up. I suppose I could try again, but I have so many other hobbies to take up my time, I think I will patronize the local bakery instead!

Leave a Reply

