recharge

My daughter just turned one.

And some of her toys have batteries that are nearly that old. In need of a recharge. The music doesn’t play well anymore, it’s out of tune, off tempo, and the Old MacDonald toy generally sounds like a dying farm animal. Mmm. Lovely.

Ever feel that way in your relationship with God? Or maybe a lack thereof?

Like a worn out battery in a toy, we too will sound out of tune when we don’t continually spend time with Jesus! It starts slowly, like not having a devotional time because there are 587 PTA phone calls to make, choir practice, family obligations, church-y expectations. Maybe we’re having company over and just NEED to have a Martha Stewart-ish home for the holidays.

“It’s just one day, God understands I’m busy,” we tell ourselves.

Have you ever tried writing that down? Like, in a prayer journal?

“Dear God. Sorry- no time for you today. Got to go. C-ya l8ter! Thanx.”

Mmm. Mmm hmmm. It’s not that easy to write that down, is it? It sure isn’t for me.

One day can turn into two days, three days, a week, a month, a loooong time.

The less time you spend with God, the weaker you get. Little by little. Your song plays slower. It starts to change into a different tune, and not a godly one.

Then one day you wake up and realize that you sound like a dying farm animal. You’re faking it, you know it, and you wonder who else does too.

I get it. It’s tough to carve out time to spend with the Lord daily. It is always hard! There is always something vying for your attention, your spouse, the house, the kids, the checkbook being off 3 cents, the tv…

So what do you do?

Acts 3:19 says “Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord

Repent.

Turn around. Do a 180. You are never standing still in your relationship with God, you are either moving closer to him or further away. Turn to Him. TURN. Away from sin. Towards Him.

Receive His forgiveness! And this means to forgive yourself too! If you have repented and asked for forgiveness, you do not need to hold guilt over your head. You are forgiven. Jesus has WIPED away your sins.

Then, and this is so amazing to me, times of refreshing may come from the Lord!

A recharge!

6 responses to “recharge

  1. Man, I know some priests you could write homilies for…although the “my daughter just turned one” line might not be taken so well… LOL!

    I am so jealous of your knitting and sewing, I start a project and peter out when I have a rough patch at work and never finish–just start a new project…For instance, simple curtains…yeah, they are all pinned for the sewing maching–oh say since June…blah!

  2. So true Dana! On a lighter note – Amelia’s hand me down music table was up in her bedroom and the batteries are wearing down or it’s possessed!! The other night around 11 pm all of a sudden it was going off by itself over and over!! I was dying laughing. Alex had to sneak in there in the dark and take it out. Fortunately, Amelia stayed sleeping through the whole ordeal!!!

  3. Happy Birthday to your Sweet Pea! And glad you are finding refreshment.

  4. I hear you…and my kids are way past their one year birthday. You would think that being an empty nester, I’d have all sorts of disciplined time to spend in devotion to God. I listen to spiritual things on my ipod and fall asleep while doing so. I think it’s just a Believer’s battle no matter what stage of life

  5. I know this is an old post (I’m behind in life general) but that is so true! Amen!

Leave a Reply

