The Butter Lamb

This……

Is the butter lamb.

I live in an area with a large Italian population, as well as Polish, Irish, and German. My great-grandparents came here from Italy in the early 1900’s. There’s always good food around here.

The butter lamb is apparently an addition to the Easter meal for Polish Catholics, according to wikipedia 🙂 I guess I always knew it was a polish tradition, because of the name on the box.

Anyways, we had a family get-together at my aunt’s house, where Sweet Pea saw her first butter lamb.

“Doggie!” she said, pointing to the lamb molded out of butter, with peppercorns for eyes.

Minutes later she had a confused and slightly horrified look on her face as the lamb was passed around the table and cut up to butter bread.

Whoops. I never saw that one coming.

9 responses to “The Butter Lamb

  1. Pingback: The Butter Lamb « Life in abundance… | Manifest My Desire

  2. Only in America could Hallelujah be an appropriate phrase to have sticking out of butter.

    It is literally one degree away from a golden calf.

  3. I wish we could still get butter lambs! Now that we moved down south, we can’t find them…there was always a butter lamb on the table at our Easter feasts!

  4. I was thinking of using our lamb molds to make chocolate lambs, I’ve never seen a butter one! How funny poor Sweet pea was horrified at it being eaten.

  5. How funny! I am not familiar with the butter lamb. Thanks for sharing.

  6. That is a scream! And a good story for the generations. Poor baby! I would have loved a butter lamb for my Easter table.

  7. I’d never heard of a butter lamb. Interesting. And I think the story about Sweet Pea is very funny. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Is that lamb made of…butter?! | THE HISTORY BUFFS PODCAST

  9. Pingback: Is that lamb made of...butter?! - DIG

Leave a Reply

