Cloth diaper plunge

I have taken the cloth diaper plunge. Sweet Pea, my two year old, has been in and out of cloth diapers since late October… which is partly why I haven’t posted in so long! Lots to get used to! Well, that and, YOU KNOW, getting ready to have another baby, coordinating a MOPS group, working out,Ā  making homemade bread and yogurt and all those other crazy things I do.

The cloth diaper endeavor was challenging at first, as is anything new, but I had some great long-distance support from some friends and I stuck it out! Now, Sweet Pea is pretty much 24-7 in cloth, I just haven’t taken the leap to ask the nursery at church if they would be ok with her being in cloth. I hate to ask those volunteers… there are so many different people who serve and I don’t want to become “that mom” who insists upon cloth or makes things inconvenient for them. I am SO thankful that there are loving people who WANT to take care of my baby and teach her bible songs and help her make a little baby Jesus cradle while my husband and I are able to worship with the rest of the adults!

And it’s not necessarily a philisophical thing, like I feel that she’d die if she had on pampers- I mean she had pampers or whatever on for almost two years, but I’ve made a financial investment in the diapers so I would prefer to stop buying the occasional disposables.

And let me tell you, my least favorite mom-task was taking out the diaper champ. Ugh. Yuck. I didn’t like it! It stunk. Bad. Now I store the used diapers in a diaper pail liner IN the diaper champ (it won’t swivel but that’s ok) and when I go to get the bag on washing days I’m, like, excited. Weird, I know. I don’t have to dump it in the trash. I get to clean them and reuse them. Take something soiled and make it fresh and clean.

Kinda like what Jesus does for us – “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow”- Isaiah 1:18. Can I get an amen? šŸ™‚

I’ll have more on cloth diapering some other time.

But for now, all is well, we’re prepping for baby #2, I’m still baking a ton of stuff, still working out, still hanging in there. I even started knitting the baby a sweater!

Just in case you’re interested, there are a several of giveaways to enter to win free diapers/ cloth diaper accesories:

Check out Clothdiaperblog.com for their super-sized-giveaway!

Sweet Deals for Moms has a diaper cream giveaway here.

Until next time… šŸ™‚

7 responses to “Cloth diaper plunge

  1. Cloth Diapers….memories…that’s what I was raised learning how to change. Pampers were for the occasional babysitter and vacations. When I took my Red Cross babysitting course and we had to practice with cloth diapers, I never understood why it too everyone else so long, lol. And when the diaper days are long past, they are the best rags.

  2. My mom used cloth diapers with me. I would like to use them if I ever have children. I worry about finding a daycare that would accept cloth diapers though.

  3. amen

  4. Good for you!!! I wish I had given them more thought when mine were babies. Too late now…but oh well!

  5. Hi, I’m Laura from Italy! I have a blog and I’d wrote a post where is cited also your blog:

    http://chebirba.blogspot.com/2010/02/i-blog-delle-mamme-dallestero-parte-ii.html

    I’d like to invite you to visite my italian blog (on the column on righ there is the link for transalte my blog in numerous languages), bye bye Laura!

  6. Haha!! I m going to tell my wife about your great site! She always have trouble with diapers šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

