An Indoor Kind of Spring Day

Spring apparently did not get the memo. There’s snow on the ground here along the 42nd latitude.

I got this fabulous idea from Dana-Made-It for a butterfly sanctuary. I love her site! Bonus that we share the same name, towhead kids, and an affinity for sewing.
Butterfly sanctuary

My children are not quite as good as coloring/ decorating as Dana-Made-It’s kids, since mine are 1 and 3, so I cut up the stash of scrapbook paper that I have had for 6 years. They can glue!!! I’m never going to start scrapbooking, so I might as well use up all that pretty paper. And let’s be honest, I truly don’t need anymore hobbies!

Everytime we walk through the back hallway, the bright butterflies bring a smile to our face.

We also made a sunflower version of our family.
march 23 005

I cut out petals of yellow, orange and yellow stripes, green stems and leaves, and a few accessories.

march 23 008

We glued them to an orange paper plate I have had sitting in my pantry for years because I keep forgetting I have them at Halloween and Thanksgiving! Didn’t she do a great job keeping with the simple pattern on this one?
march 23 009

Then we glued another orange plate over the petals to make it look all nice and neat and also to make room to personalize our sunflower people.

Sunflower family

We used some sticky wax to hang our little sunflower family up next to the butterflies.

It may be frozen outside, but spring has sprung indoors!

4 responses to “An Indoor Kind of Spring Day

  1. These are adorable! I found your site while trying to look for pasta recipes 😉

  2. Wow, how cute Dana!!! Love both the craft ideas …. and a perfect way to keep spring alive amidst all the snow outside!

  3. These are SO darned cute!!! I’m coming over to your house for craft time next week!!!

  4. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this write-up
    and also the rest of the site is very good.

Leave a comment